A mailbox can be disabled or deleted. When a mailbox is disabled, all the Exchange attributes are removed from the corresponding Active Directory user account (disconnected from the associated user account) but the Active Directory user account is retained. The disconnected mailbox is hidden and marked for removal. It is then permanently purged after the expiry of its retention period.
To disable a mailbox, click Disable under Actions column.


When a mailbox is deleted, all the Exchange attributes are removed from the corresponding Active Directory user account (disconnected from the associated user account) and the Active Directory user account itself is also deleted. The disconnected mailbox is hidden and marked for removal. It is then permanently purged after the expiry of its retention period.
To delete a mailbox, click Delete under Actions column.

